Home > Publications and Awards

Owen Marshall's Publications and Awards

Short fiction books:

Supper Waltz Wilson 1979

The Master of Big Jingles 1982

The Day Hemingway Died 1984

The Lynx Hunter 1987

The Divided World 1989

Tomorrow We Save the Orphans 1992

The Ace of Diamonds Gang 1993

Coming Home in the Dark 1995

The Best of Owen Marshall's Short Stories 1997

Spinning a Line 2001

Authors' Choice (ed) 2001

Essential New Zealand Short Stories (ed) 2002

When Gravity Snaps 2002


A Many Coated Man 1995

Harlequin Rex 1999

In Collaboration

Timeless Land with artist Grahame Sydney and poet Brian Turner 1995

Educational texts

Burning Boats, anthology of short stories (edited) 1994

Letter from Heaven, anthology of poems (edited) 1996

Beethoven's Ears anthology of short stories 1996

Radio play

An Indirect Geography commissioned by Radio New Zealand, first broadcast 1991


PEN Lillian Ida Smith Award

Evening Standard  Short Story Prize

American Express Short Story Award

New Zealand Literary Fund Scholarship in Letters

Katherine Mansfield Memorial Fellowship in Menton, France

The ONZM for services to literature in 2000

Winner of the Deutz Medal for Fiction in the Montana NZ Book

Awards in 2000, for the novel `Harlequin Rex.'

The Press South Island Writers' Award, 2004

One of the New Zealand writers invited to France as part of Les Belles Etrangeres, 2006

NZSA  President of Honour, 2007/8

NZSA Woollaston Estates Writer in Residence 2007

Home About Owen Marshall Bookshelf Resources Sample stories Reviews Contact us Links